Pins and Needles

We all can be a little bit strange now and then.  Think about the little odd things you do, or the quirks that you have, go ahead; a little introspection never hurt!

I’ve found that those little odd things are what makes you, well, you.  Of course, it’s kind of obvious, if we all didn’t have odd quirks, we would all be the same, and some weird robotic race attempting to take over the world and all of humanity.  Which wouldn’t exist if we’re all robots.  I guess that analogy doesn’t really work but I’ll leave it for posterity.  What I’m trying to get at here, half a cup of coffee in mind you, is that we’re all different.  Every single one of us.  And that’s what makes the human race so cool.  I appear to enjoy numeric lists, as each post has one, so here is yet another one with some of my little quirks:

1.  I absolutely, 105%, am addicted to cake.  It’s a very, odd quirk, I think.  If you put cake in front of me, I will consume it.  Yes, the entire sheet.
2.  I despise water.  To the point where we have an agreement, yes the water and I have an agreement, that I will shower in it, and drink it.  No swimming, no water slides, no tubing; nothing.
3.  I will not risk trimming my own eyebrows, but am too embarrassed to ask when getting a haircut.  If they ask me, then yes, if not, mums the word.  I have caterpillars for eyebrows.
4.  Pins and Needles.  The true meaning of this post.

Don’t try this at home.

My entire life, I’ve been fascinated with “Pins and Needles,” that tingly sensation you get when you sit odd or sleep odd on a limb.  “Paresthesia” is it’s actual name.  And the description is as follows:

Pins and needles’ (paresthesia) is a sensation of uncomfortable tingling or prickling, usually felt in the hands or feet. The affected area is sometimes said to have ‘fallen asleep’.

A common cause is leaning or lying awkwardly on a limb, which either presses against the nerves or reduces the blood supply to the local area. Changing position quickly restores normal feeling. Any numbness is soon replaced by a tingling and prickling sensation, as the nerves start sending messages again to the brain and spinal cord.

In some cases, pins and needles are caused by nerve damage or certain disorders of the central nervous system. Always see your doctor if you experience frequent or persistent bouts of pins and needles.  Source.

This odd fascination has led me to purposely try to make my feet or hands fall asleep (when I was a young child of course), just so I could feel that sensation again.  It’s an odd sensation, relaxing but annoying, tingly but slightly painful.  I’m fairly certain that I don’t have any disorders that would cause this, and believe you me, I’ve been to the hospital enough for the stupid things I’ve done in my life.   Maybe I’m a weird type of masochist, who only likes the Pins and Needles pain.  Oh yeah, make my foot fall asleep baby, yeah.

Okay, that was a little weird.

A little heads up, putting your elbows on your knees while dropping the kids off at the pool for a few minutes, will definitely cause your feet to fall asleep.  I tested this theory, for science of course, recently;  and I was walking around my house giggling like a little kid.  Until I stubbed my toe.

I’m sure if a psychiatrist stumbles across updown ‘n sideways, I’ll become part of some clinical study of sorts, maybe they pay well?

Leave a Reply

